Why I Love San Francisco

This past July, I went to San Francisco to visit a friend, and with every moment I fell more in love with this city than I already am.  Here’s why.

Natural and Architectural Beauty:

IMG_4811
A gorgeous Bay day
IMG_4814
Palace of Fine Arts
IMG_4809
Coit Tower
IMG_4808
The Golden Gate Bridge peeking out through the fog

All my 90’s kids will recognize these from the opening credits of Full House.  The Painted Ladies in Alamo Square are the epitome of the Victorian era homes in San Francisco.

IMG_4828

The Ferry Building is one of the must-go places for me every time I go to the city.  Inside, you can find all kind of artisan food mongers, butchers, creameries, coffee shops, and restaurants.  It’s my heaven.  Turns out, the actually ferry leaves from here as well, who’da thunk it?
IMG_4872

To me, the Transamerica building is the building that makes the San Francisco skyline. Well, that and the bridges.IMG_4880 IMG_4863 IMG_4899

Go 'Murica!
Go ‘Murica!

The Food:

The food scene in San Francisco is so wonderful.  As I’m sure you’ve picked up by now, bad food is a deal breaker for me.  Luckily, San Francisco and I can continue our love affair, because this is the food mecca of the US. The plethora of fresh produce and locally made goods makes each trip to the farmers market or a restaurant a special treat, and actually makes you excited to eat healthy. Imagine that.  Like this proscuitto with almonds and piquillo peppers from Bar Jules in Hayes Valley. Okay, so maybe proscuitto isn’t healthy, but I’m willing to look the other way on this one.

IMG_4796_2

Or their fantastic chocolate cake.  I couldn’t wait to taste the fresh whipped cream before taking the picture.IMG_4798_2

My fave in the city
My fave in the city

farm:table is one of my favorite places to go in the city.  Their menu is different everyday depending on what’s fresh, and then tweeted to their loyal foodie followers.  Seating is limited in their tiny space, but if you’re lucky you can catch a table outside and enjoy a rare sunny day, an egg and bacon sandwich on a housemade bisquit, and a latte with a friend.

IMG_4806_2

The perfect remedy for a hangover is this s’mores rootbeer float from Cole Valley’s The Ice Cream Bar Soda Fountain. Trust me on this one.

S'mores milkshake.

And the fruits and veg.  The variety here is amazing, and I will eat heirloom anything. IMG_4874 IMG_4865_2

Tomato love.
Tomato love.

The Quirks:

All the things that make me smile.

Playing tourist with the lower Haight bunny
Playing tourist with the lower Haight bunny
A ceiling made entirely out of wine corks. Genius!
A ceiling made entirely out of wine corks. Genius!
Reppin' my Indian brethren
Reppin’ my Indian brethren
Just like me.
Just like me.

IMG_4824 IMG_4825

Walking up these stairs was terrible, but beautiful at the same time.
IMG_4860 DSC02687

Hey, book people, make sure if you’re ever in the city you visit City Lights.  It’s pretty great.IMG_4884

And the most important thing in San Francisco that makes me smile.  My amiga that I met in Spain, Casey.  She willingly brought my into her home, tour guided me around the city, and made sure that my body was always drunk or full of food.  What a good friend!

Early morning mimosas to kick off a day that almost killed me!
Early morning mimosas to kick off a day that almost killed me!

IMG_4830

Oh yeah, did I mention we went to the Pride Festival the weekend after DOMA was declared unconstitutional? I LOVE SF!!IMG_4855 IMG_4856_2 IMG_4850

Leave a comment